Blueprint for Governance

بسم الله والحمد لله والصلاة والسلام على رسول الله وعلى آله وصحبه ومن تبع هداه وبعد

.

The following is part of the first speech Abu Bakr رضي الله عنهما made, soon after becoming the khaleefah:

يها الناس فإني قد وليت عليكم ولست بخيركم فان أحسنت فأعينوني وإن أسأت فقوموني الصدق أمانة والكذب خيانة والضعيف فيكم قوي عندي حتى أرجع عليه حقه إن شاء الله والقوي فيكم ضعيف حتى آخذ الحق منه إن شاء الله لا يدع قوم الجهاد في سبيل الله إلا خذلهم الله بالذل ولا تشيع الفاحشة في قوم إلا عمهم الله بالبلاء أطيعوني ما أطعت الله ورسوله فإذا عصيت الله ورسوله فلا طاعة لي عليكم قوموا إلى صلاتكم يرحمكم الله

“O people, I have been given authority over you while I am not your best among you. So, if I do well then help me, and if I go astray, correct me. Truthfulness is a responsibility, while untruthfulness is treachery. And the weak amongst you is strong by me until I give him back his right by the Will of Allaah, and the strong amongst you is weak by me until I take from him the right (of others) by the Will of Allaah. Do not give up Jihad, for no people who give it up, except Allaah brings humiliation upon them. And obey me as long as I obey Allaah and His Messenger; if I disobey Allaah and His Messenger, then you have no obligation to obey me. Stand up for salah, may Allaah have Mercy upon you.”

[‘Al-Bidayah wan-Nihaya’, Ibn Katheer 6/305; other variations found in ‘Seerah an-Nabawiyah wa Akhbar al-Khulafa’ of Ibn Hibban; and ‘Seerah an-Nabawiyah’ of ibn Hisham]

.

May Allaah make all Muslim leaders like him.

Leave a Reply

